Brentwood Borough Council POLITICAL BALANCE – 18 May 2016

The Political Balance of the Council is:

POLITICAL GROUP	NO. OF MEMBERS		%
CONSERVATIVE	24	=	64.864
LIBERAL DEMOCRATS	10	=	27.027
LABOUR	2	=	5.405
NON- ALIGNED	1	=	2.702
TOTALS	37		100

POLITICAL GROUP	NO. OF MEMBERS	NO. OF SEATS ON ORDINARY COMMITTEES
CONSERVATIVE	24	43 (42.810)
LIBERAL DEMOCRATS	10	18 (17.837)
LABOUR	2	3 (3.567)
NON- ALIGNED	1	2 (1.783)
		66

PROPOSAL:

	A &SC* (9)	C, H & LC** (9)	DAC*** (9)	E&HMC + (9)	P & LC++ (12)	P,F&R# (9)	SAC~ (9)	TOTAL 66
CON	6	6	6	6	7	6	6	43
LIB DEM	2	3	3	3	3	2	2	18
LAB	-	-	-	-	1	1	1	3
NON- AL.	1	-	-	-	1	-	-	2
	9	9	9	9	12	9	9	66

*A & SC denotes Audit and Scrutiny Committee

**C, H & LC denotes Community, Health and Leisure Committee

*** DAC denotes Dismissal Appeals Committee (Only meets on demand)

+ E & HMC denotes Environment & Housing Management Committee

++ P & LC denotes Planning and Licensing Committee

P, F&R denotes Policy, Finance & Resources Committee

~ SAC denotes Staff Appointments Committee (Only meets on demand)

Section 15 (5) principles

Section 15 (5) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 states:-

'The principles mentioned in subsection (4) above, in relation to the seats on any body which fall to be filled by appointments made by any relevant authority or committee of a relevant authority, are –

- (a) that not all the seats on the body are allocated to the same political group;
- (b) that the majority of the seats on the body is allocated to a particular political group if the number of persons belonging to that group is a majority of the authority's membership;
- (c) subject to paragraphs (a) and (b) above, that the number of seats on the ordinary committees of a relevant authority which are allocated to each political group bears the same proportion to the total of all seats on the ordinary committees of that authority as is borne by the number of members of that group to the membership of the authority; and
- (d) subject to paragraphs (a) to (c) above, that the number of the seats on the body which are allocated to each political group bears the same proportion to the number of all the seats on that body as is borne by the number of members of that group to the membership of the authority.'

Ordinary Committees do not include sub-committees or advisory committees or advisory sub-committees.

NOMINATIONS TO SEAT ALLOCATIONS & APPOINTMENTS

(Council must give effect to the wishes of the political groups as regards the nominations for the seats allocated to those political groups).

Audit and Scrutiny Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (2)	Labour (0)	Non-Aligned (1)
Chair*:	Cllr Jan Pound	Cllr Karen Chilvers		Cllr Roger Keeble
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr Mark Reed	Cllr Alison Fulcher		
	Cllr Roger Hirst			
	Cllr Noelle Hones			
	Cllr Thomas Bridge			
	Cllr Sheila Murphy			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Jon Cloke	Cllr Joanne Squirrell		Cllr Mrs Davies
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Aimi Middlehurst			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Cliff Poppy			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr James Tumbridge			

Community, Health & Leisure Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (3)	Labour (0)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair*:	Cllr Keith Parker	Cllr Vicky Davies		
Vice-Chair**	Cllr Olivia Sanders	Cllr Jill Hubbard		
	Cllr Mark Reed	Cllr Nigel Clarke		
	Cllr Mellissa Slade			
	Cllr Will Trump			
	Cllr Andy Wiles			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Paul Barrell	Cllr Alison Fulcher		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Aimi Middlehurst	Cllr Joanne Squirrell		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Cliff Poppy			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Will Russell			

Dismissal Appeals Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (3)	Labour (0)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair:	Cllr Louise McKinlay	Cllr Barry Aspinell		
Vice-Chair:	Cllr John Kerslake	Cllr Karen Chilvers		
	Cllr Paul Faragher	Cllr David Kendall		
	Cllr Chris Hossack			
	Cllr Keith Parker			
	Cllr Jan Pound			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Cliff Poppy	Cllr Philip Mynott		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Mark Reed	Cllr John Newberry		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Louise Rowlands			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Olivia Sanders			

Environment & Housing Management Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (3)	Labour (0)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair*:	Cllr Chris Hossack	Cllr Vicky Davies		
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr Cliff Poppy	Cllr Joanne Squirrell		
	Cllr Jon Cloke	Cllr Alison Fulcher		
	Cllr Ann Coe			
	Cllr Will Russell			
	Cllr James Tumbridge			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Paul Barrell	Cllr David Kendall		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Paul Faragher	Cllr Jill Hubbard		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Sheila Murphy			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Olivia Sanders			

Planning & Licensing Committee (12)	Conservative (7)	Liberal Democrat (3)	Labour (1)	Non-Aligned (1)
Chair*:	Cllr Roger McCheyne	Cllr Philip Mynott	Cllr Julie Morrissey	Cllr Keeble
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr Louise Rowlands	Cllr John Newberry		
	Cllr Paul Barrell	Cllr Jill Hubbard		
	Cllr Thomas Bridge			
	Cllr Paul Faragher			
	Cllr Aimi Middlehurst			
	Cllr Sheila Murphy			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Ann Coe	Cllr Vicky Davies	Cllr Gareth Barrett	Cllr Kendall
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Will Russell	Cllr Nigel Clarke		
Approved Substitute:	Cllr James Tumbridge			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Andy Wiles			

Policy, Finance & Resources Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (2)	Labour (1)	Non-Aligned (0)
Chair*:	Cllr Louise McKinlay	Cllr David Kendall	Cllr Gareth Barrett	
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr John Kerslake	Cllr Philip Mynott		
	Cllr Paul Faragher			
	Cllr Chris Hossack			
	Cllr Roger McCheyne			
	Cllr Keith Parker			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Louise Rowlands	Cllr Barry Aspinell	Cllr Julie Morrissey	
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Olivia Sanders			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Will Trump			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Andy Wiles			

Staff Appointments Committee (9)	Conservative (6)	Liberal Democrat (2)	Labour (1)	Non-Aligned ()
Chair*:	Cllr Louise McKinlay	Cllr Barry Aspinell	Cllr Gareth Barrett	
Vice-Chair**:	Cllr John Kerslake	Cllr Philip Mynott		
	Cllr Paul Faragher			
	Cllr Chris Hossack			
	Cllr Keith Parker			
	Cllr Jan Pound			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Cliff Poppy	Cllr Karen Chilvers	Cllr Julie Morrissey	
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Mark Reed			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Louise Rowlands			
Approved Substitute:	Cllr Olivia Sanders			